April 29, 2013

  • A Homemade Game

    My father-in-law was a farmer and a Mennonite preacher.
    He lived a simple life, he was a quiet man who worked hard,
    he kept busy and he never threw anything away,
    he found ways to use what he had.
    He made this game for his children
    using an old cutting board and rubber canning rings.

      His children spent many Sunday afternoons playing this game,
    I played it when I was a youth and would visit them and
    our nieces and nephews love to play it now.

    When I cleaned out the cellar last summer I found a box of canning rings,
    I was glad to see them, there were only a few of the old ones left to use.

    I am always happy to see kids playing games
    that aren't connected to a battery.

Comments (33)

  • That's a wonderful game, Beth, and a wonderful way to remember your FIL!

  • What a wonderful imagination your father had to be able to come up with such things for his kids.    Wonderful that it is still being used<:)

  • I admire people who are handy with making new things from old. I'm sure that this would bring as much enjoyment now as it did in times past ... especially if kids had the opportunity to get away from all things electronic and battery-operated! I grew up without those things, and learned to create my own fun. Thanks for sharing.  

  • What a cool idea! Love the pics of the kids! They look like they're having so much fun!

  • Awwwww! How sweet! Makes me miss the farm in PA from my youth...

  • That shows the great power of the human mind.  Glad to see it is being embraced by another generation!

  • now one has punned so... there's a ringer :D

  • GREAT game!!!

  • i still have the drawing board and t-square that my father-n-law gave me before he was my father-n-law during my tech school days (you know: those days before cad software, the internet and 3-d solid modeling programs, when dinosaurs still roamed the earth) so i could take it to my graveyard shift job and work on drafting/design assignments when things were slow. it does on occasion still get used for some fun art projects... 

  • What fun! What a great game your FIL made!!!
    Yes, I agree! I'm the family member that always has the kids outside playing games, taking scavenger-hunt walks, painting the side of the house with paintbrushes and water, drawing with chalk, etc.
    HUGS!!!

  • This game sounds great!

  • Having fun... connecting to their past... and practicing their math skills.  I call that a WIN/WIN situation!   :)

  • That is awesome!

  • This makes me really miss being young, these days everything is technology based!

  • This looks like something my kids' grandfather would come up with.

  • isn't that the truth Beth. When Dr Herr and I told the young employees that we didn't have toys when we grewup they what?

    we would always get a doll at Christmas till we were 11yrs old but after that I guess we got something like a real game.

    Dr. lived on the farm and everything was handmade and I said we did so much and had so much fun that all the neighbor kids would come to our yards to play.(we had 8 kids) we even played school and put on plays besides the physical sports stuff.

    once we got dad's parachute out from WW2 cause we were going to use that to jump off the shed roof instead of umbrella's and we all pulled the silk and it covered the whole backyard. We tried and tried to stuff the silk back in the backpack but it kept popping out cause it was so slick and we didn't want to ask dad how to fold it back up and I guess you can figure out why.

  • what a great game and I love the jars too!  the other day Nash was looking at his woody doll ( from toy story ) anyway woody has a cord and ring on the back of his neck that you pull and he say's stuff like " there's a snake in my boot", Nash wanted to know where the batteries went and I told him He doesn't have batteries and explained that when you pulled the cord it turned a cylinder and that played Woody's words kinda like a record player and Nash said " what's a record player" 

  • I like this story. People seem to lose all creativity. They either buy things, or they LET someone make them, instead of figuring something out on their own. I always feel guilty when I throw away things that could be useful. and don't get me started on pollution.
    I believe there's a trend o trying to be more indepedant though.

    This game sounds like a lot of fun.

  • great idea! i too like to see the kids doing anything not connected to a battery. ;) )

  • Sometimes at lunch we play a game where you have to toss a pebble into a hard hat, a few paces away. The simplest things can be quite entertaining.

  • before I looked at the draft that said $8908, I didnt believe that...my... mom in-law woz like actualie taking home money parttime from there labtop.. there brothers friend has done this for under 13 months and resantly cleard the debts on their appartment and got a brand new Dodge. go to, http://www.wow83.com

  • Some games do "cost" money. We used to throw coins against the wall to see who could get the closest to it.

    You could use coins as checkers also.

    I suppose using dice is gambling, The new dice for adventure games is pretty interesting and sort of make dice old hat.

    The old battleship game doesn't use much electricity. The electronic version probably is pretty easy to set up and you don't lose pieces to it.

  • Looks like the game called "washers" that some people play, except the washers are slightly smaller... Love the photos!

  • @PPhilip - I love the original Battleship!

  • I think it's great like back in the day we made lot of own toys. 

  • Very clever.

  • Very clever!

    I wasn't really a game person as a kid.  I do remember enjoying that game where you throw a ball over the house and yell something.  I don't even remember the purpose, but I do remember having fun because there was no competition.  Just something I could do and holler and laugh.

  • Those jars were made right here in my hometown....maybe by my grandfather or great grandfathers! Thanks for the memories and the photos too.

  • Just stopping by with HUGS for you today!

  • I never ever read such type of info before this was really incredible.
    Online Games

  • I was pinning away for such type of blogs, thanks for posting this for us.
    real slots online

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *