April 5, 2013

  • Question about saying "FU** YOU!!"

    I went to see "Olympus Has Fallen"

    It was an entertaining movie. When the White House (Secret Service Code: "Olympus") is captured by a terrorist mastermind, the President ,Vice President and Secretary of State and others are kidnapped and held in the safe bunker.
    Disgraced former Presidential guard Mike Banning finds himself trapped
    within the building. As our national security team scrambles to respond,
    they are forced to rely on Banning's inside knowledge to help retake
    the White House, save the President and avert an even bigger disaster.

    The terrorists want a nuclear weapon code from the President ,Vice President and Secretary of State , they need the code from all three.
    The SOS is a woman and she holds out and will die before she gives it up,
    the Pres orders her to give it after the terrorists almost beat her to death.
    She gives it but is feisty and will not be broken, as they drag her out
    she looks them in the eye and says
    "F*** You!",
    which was supposed to be a dramatic moment of righteous patriotism.


    Here is my question, What else could she have said to get the same impact?
    Why does a dignified, well respected leader of the country
    have to be reduced to "F*** You" ,
    Why not the pledge of the flag or the national anthem or ...
    what?
    Is there another expression that carries the same message?

Comments (21)

  • I'll see you in H*LL.  Or Go to H*LL.  Hmmm

  • ARGO used the "F" word in their slogan, too. Hollywood seems to have a new preoccupation with the use of that word.

  • @olwd - that's good and it has a better message.

  • @rnjennison - hehehe, yea, I found it kind of funny how they used it in Argo.  Then again, I have a weird mind I guess.  LOL

  • @olwd - no you don't. I thought it was kind of funny, too.

  • Sounds like a movie I may want to see. I like action/adventure like you described. Not sure what phrase could've been said better, as I have a potty myself at times. But at least I do watch my language around others so it won't offend them. I think when people feel extra passionate, is when they curse the most.

  • Up your nose with a rubber hose??

  • Doesn't quite stack up to "I only regret that I have but one life to give for my country," does it?

  • Remember in the movie Casablanca how the French patrons of Rick's Place started to sing Le Marsielles (sp?) when the Germans were singing their national anthem? I liked that moment, and it displayed their patriotism without being offensive.

  • I like "You Disgust Me"... 

  • How about "Screw you?" When did people stop using that one?

  • I actually was disappointed that this woman, and the other man, gave the codes, even with the president telling them to, because he was acting under duress of seeing her beaten which led me to know that he more than likely would fail when they came to beating him or his family too.  Those in highest positions knew the risk when they took the job and she should have died with that code. Was it insubordination? Possibly, but it was to save the whole country and it was her job, one she was sworn to uphold.  As a comparison, on a ship, (spaceship or sailing vessel, take your pick) the 1st mate can have the captain step down if they feel they are unfit for duty. If the president is asking someone to give up 1/3 of the codes that will destroy the entire nation, I think he needs to be over-ruled by whomever has the strength of mind to do so.

    I know that doesn't answer the cuss question, but I think refusing the codes would have been the most patriotic thing she could've done.

  •          Even with all that said, I did enjoy the movie for what it was. There were many deaths in a short ammt of time (reminded me of Scarface-"say hello to my little friend") but it was not gore, so I was glad of that.

  • I prefer go to hell. The F word is disgusting and overused. Sadly, somehow our society seems to accept it.

  • @rnjennison - Not sure if that is a good thing or what.  hehehe

  • "Get your stinking paws off me, you damn, dirty ape!" 

    How's that, does that work better?

  • @olwd - I suppose an atheist could also say go to h but if a person is religious maybe the Da-n word would work?

    Definitely if she gave up the code then yeah a lot of people would be da-ned to a horrible death if the nuclear weapons were used.

    Definitely Hollywood does not set the trend on use of some language but maybe America is being too sexualized and the F word just contributes to popular cultured based on sex.

  • General McAuliffe said Nuts to you! That works for me.

  • I use " Bless your heart" I cain't like the f word 

  • IF there were a word that had the same impact we would probably have much the same feeling about it that we have about the FU word. Did you know that the swearing center of our brain is a whole different area of the brain then the language part?! When we get old and start to break down, the swearing center is often the last part of our language that goes... That's why often dementia patients will swear... Very odd isn't it. 

  • Interesting; I'm not sure I have a good answer, though.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *