March 5, 2013

  • Lost and Found Inspiration

    My camera has been in the shop since Sept.
    I was taking photos of an old mill and
    got an error message, it only happened when shooting outside.
    I took it to a camera shop in the next county,
    the only local place that works on Nikons.
    I told them that the error message
    seemed to happen in bright light outside, not inside.
    They sent the camera off to be cleaned and checked.
    I picked it up, paid $150 and as soon as I went to take a pic
    I got the same error message.
    I tried a different lens and did not get the error message,
    so I took it all the way back to the shop I had just come from
    and explained everything clearly.
    After a few weeks they called to say it was fixed,
    I asked if they took a pic outside to see if there was an error message,
    they had not but when they did that, of course there was still one.
    They had not sent the lens out, just the camera ,again.
    They sent the lens out and called me again,
    I once again asked them to take a pic outside
    before I drive all the way there to pick it up,
    they got an error message again.
    They said they can not fix it.
    I need to take it somewhere else.
    He apologized profusely and said he would give me my money back,
    I am picking it up today.

    I will take it to another shop, a 1 1/2 hrs drive and see what they can do,
    I do not have another regular lens, this one was very expensive,
    I hope there is something that they can do,
    if not I will just have to get a new lens.

    But I realized that my photos are my main inspiration for blogging and
    my creative outlet.
    Since the camera is in the shop I needed another creative outlet so
    I have been working on crafts.
    We sell thousands of ornaments at out Christmas Poinsettia Show,
    they love handmade ornaments.
    I usually make a few different things to sell
    and then they sell and I have nothing to restock with.
    This year I decided to work on ornaments all year and make a good supply.
    I did lettering on Christmas balls

    I made paper angels,

    and now I'm making origami dress ornaments
    I made hangers out of wire to hang them on.

    That is what's going on with me these days.
    How are you?

Comments (25)

  • So sorry about your camera :(

    Keeping busy over here, just work and ultimate frisbee.

  • and here i thought i was going to see more of your lovely photos. poor thing; sorry about the 'stupidity' of the camera shop. still, i want to say LOVE those little dresses on their little hangars! clever origami, and beauteous balls ;)  

  • @Bels_Kaylar - When I get my camera back you will see more pics than you want to look at!

  • Dang!  Is there another number from Nikon that you can call?  How old is your camera?  Can't imagine why they couldn't fix a simple error.

  • with all the money you'll make on your christmas ornaments you'll be able to buy another lense, but we can't wait till christmas....good luck and don't forget to get your money back when you pick up your camera.   

    p.s...I'm fine thank you!

  • Do you ever use stencils when you make ornaments?

  • Good to see you back, Beth -- I've been wondering where you've been. Gah -- camera messages are troubling, aren't they! Your Christmas ornaments are delightful -- I love your creativity!

  • No, no, no, no! Take the Nikon and send it to Nikon (USA) yourself. Put in a copy of all the receipts you have acquired trying to fix the camera. Write a nice letter explaining to the fine folks at Nikon that you are in dire need of some real professional assistance.

    Trust me on this one. We (uncle Sam) send our Nikons in all the time for their refurbishment program. It is cheaper and much more bettererer than your local dork.

    Oh yeah, I doubt he really sent it off. Why? Nikon currently has a 6 -8 month backup. Just sayin...

    Sail on... sail on!!!

  • I enjoy your creativity. I hope you get your camera fixed soon. Although I'm nowhere near as good as you are when it comes to snapping away, I feel your loss. I would be devestated if I didn't have my trusty point-n-shoot.

  • I was just thinking about you and your camera today, wondering when you would get it back! I'm sorry you're having so much trouble getting it fixed. I do like all your craftiness! Guess what I've been doing?  If you guess crocheting, well then, you'd be right! LOL BUT I'm also making clay handles on my hooks and I love them! Finally something I've tried that works! Next on my list is to make shrinky dink ornaments (like Sarah and I did last year). I want to make some sets to give as gifts.  Stay busy!  

  • What a fiasco with the lens! I hope they can fix the lens. I know the lens are so expensive. 

    I am glad you have got out of the doldrums of not doing things... I love the way you have lettered the ornaments and made the origami dresses. They are beautiful Beth. Take care. Hugs.

  • Your ornaments are gorgeous! Have you ever considered doing some "doodles" on a plain white ornament with a black sharpie? I hope you made lots of the little dresses 'cause they are going to sell like hotcakes!!

  • These all looked very nice. I hope that you are able to get your camera fixed and it is working well again. This is why I have a digital Camera, they work well, and it doesn't take much to fix them if it is needed. Bro. Doc

  • lots going on here, but not much of it creative...

  • Sorry about your camera woes. UGH! I do enjoy your pictures so much. Love the ornaments, especially the origami ones.One year I bought an old song book with yellowed pages at a second hand shop and made ornaments with the pages. Now my new thing is rag rugs. I posted a couple pics on my site the ones I am currently working on. I am also making some curtains for my daughter from old hankies. I find all kinds of great craft ideas on Pinterest. Love it there!

  • All the projects look nice, but the origami dress ornaments are definitely my favorite! Very cool!

  • I am so sorry about your camera and would be absolutely lost without mine.  Thank goodness the man is giving you your money back.

    My camera is my window to the beauty of the world and I would be totally lost without it.

    I love the ornaments, angels and dresses you made.  You are such a talented, loving woman beth<:)

  • What a great attitude: a real "Make lemonade of lemons" way to look at this. Your art is beautiful.

  • So sorry to hear about your camera.
    Looks like you are busy doing some fun, beautiful things!!!
    Love the angels!!!
    HUGS!!!

  • You are amazing SeedSower! I have yet to buy me a guitar, keyboard and crafts so I can start my creative outlet.

  • That's sucky news about your camera. I hope the next place can fix it. You are awesome. I love those origami dress ornaments. 

  • I suppose it's not under warranty anymore? Electronic cameras are awesome but this kind of thing can be extremely frustrating.

  • @boxedwine - I have for glass etching but not for drawing.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *