November 23, 2012

  • Pointsettia Show Preperation

    I hope all who honor Thanksgiving had a wonderful time with
    friends and family.
    and if that was not possible
    I hope that you were able to find something in your life to be thankful for.

    The poinsettias are in bloom and they are gorgeous!

    It is the down to the last week of prep time for our Poinsettia Show ,
    this years theme is "Christmas in New york City"
    here is a look behind the scenes so far...

    The Brooklyn Bridge


    Cony Island


    We are using the water wheel to make a ferris wheel!

    Window Displays

    The first one is Tiffany's, we will also have Macy's,
    Lord and Taylor's, Bloomingdales and Saks.
    Window displays are one of the most fun parts of a NYC Christmas,
    Read more about it HERE

    Times Square

    Broadway

    Central Park

    The grand finale will be Rockefeller Center but we have not started that yet.

    I have been crafting for weeks, one thing Ive been making are
    traditional German "Scherenschnitte" cut paper ornaments


    I made about 100 of these to sell at the show.
    It is a lot of work but people really enjoy small , handcrafted ornaments.
    I work on project all year long.

    This is where I have been, and will be until Christmas,
    making ornaments, bows and wreaths.

    I will post photos after the show.

Comments (46)

  • looks fabulous so far...what a treat it must be for your visitors!

  • Oh, my goodness, Beth, what a lot of work.  The show preps look great, and the flowers are beautiful. 

  • So creative!! Happy thanksgiving!

  • I very much enjoyed this post.  Thank you.

  • Such a big show.  Thanks for sharing with us, it is great fun to see!

  • Beth, you are a fine motivator for getting the creative flowing. I would love to one day walk through your show. May your flowers stay bright and you heart warmed by what you pass on to others. HUGS to YOU!

  • This looks amazing!  I love poinsettas and that whole backdrop of NYC is very awesome!  Anxious to at least see pix.  Might have to take a day trip.  Its the first weekend of Dec. right?

  • Hard to believe there is anyone else alive putting out as much creative energy as you do. You scare me, ha.
    I'm 'sitting on the suitcases' here, as they say in heebie. If things work out well I'll stop by during the show to gawk and gasp. (In addition to engineering getting 'snowed-in' with you-uns later. ♥

  • I'm sure everyone put their love into their hard work --- those are amazing work, I must say. Love the poinsettias and the theme.

  • @jsolberg - I am so looking forward to seeing you, I can hardly wait,safe travels my friend .

  • It's all ready Poinsettia Show time? Where has the year gone?

  • super impressive!  Good luck with it : )

  • Your pictures are all wonderful 

  • wow!  you all really do put a lot of work into all of this.  the window displays do seem like they will be very neat.  and your ornaments are beautiful, Beth. : )

  • What does Cider have in his mouth in that first photo?

  • wish I could see it up close and in person!  Thanks for the glimpses here.

  • I love the Angel ornament, is it made from paper? Your show is a grand event. You all have a great talent to share.

  • From cowboys to the big apple in one year! I can't wait to see the final show.

  • Beautiful ornaments are you making. It will be a heue Christmas party I guess, with lots of fun. Doing all this preparation must make you proud to be part of it.

  • @maddlines - They are traditionally made of parchment paper but  I also use card stock because it hold up better year after year.

    @boxedwine - he has a scarf on with a bootie and bell at the end of it that the groomer put on him after she dipped and brushed him, got him ready for the visitors to the show, they love him!

  • with @srheam - it is Nov 31 9-9, Dec1 9-5 and Dec 3 9-9

  • This is amazing. I can't believe the number of man hours you put into this event. Kudos.
    Might it be possible for me to buy a copy of a photo you took at John's cabin in NY during our Birthday event?

  • Busy and quite beautiful Beth...

  • @seedsower - there is no Nov 31 (guessing you meant 30th?) We'll see.  I have a paper due that following Wed.  This would be a nice distraction, but I don't think it will write my paper ;)

  • I love the theme this year! I can only imagine the hard work it takes to make it come to life!! Your ornaments are beautiful - so delicate! Makes me want to travel to the show just to buy one!!

  • I can't imagine all the work that went into this.  I wish I could come up for the show.

  • It looks like a lot of work but it is BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  • This is amazing and I wish we could all come and see.  Thank you for sharing through your photos.

  • This is wonderful.  I wish I could come to the show.

  • A lot of work but Poinsetia deserve that
    .Love

    mIchel

  • Beth, 

    This is so completely awesome in every way possible. You are simply amazing. Sometime, someone must spend some time with you, an extended period of time, and then write about you and your Life, and all of the cool things that you do, and take photographs of where you live, and all the kids, and everything.
    I have been able to spend a part of my past life in your special part of the world, and it is a place unique in the Universe, as you are as well, unique and special, and very gifted with a commitment to your life like no one else I have ever known.

    Happy Thanksgiving, Beth.

    With Love and Thoughts,

    Michael 

  • Everything looks absolutely amazing! I want to come to your poinsettia show! 

  • So pretty!  Where did you find the paper ornament instructions???  They look so delicate.  Do you need special scissors?

    I ordered a red poinsettia from a lady at work and will get it the middle of Dec.  

  • Beautiful Ornaments!

  • Eversleek is a line that promises 48 hour frizz control.
    Still, be extremely careful which web sites you use for these reviews
    because many of them are just internet sites that are
    trying to trade you products and the reviews may not be real.
    If you've already found the shampoo that works for you, stick to it.

  • 865748 956396Sweet site , super layout, actually clean and utilize genial . 37923

  • Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you're working with?
    I'm looking to start my own blog soon but I'm having a hard time deciding
    between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I'm looking for something completely unique.

    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  • The description ought to include details around the condition on the
    vehicle, mileage, year, and perhaps any pictures you have
    in the vehicle.

  • Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am
    impressed! Very helpful information specifically the last phase
    :) I maintain such information much. I used to be seeking this particular info for a
    long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  • Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to be running off the
    screen in Safari. I'm not sure if this is a formatting issue or something
    to do with web browser compatibility but I thought
    I'd post to let you know. The design look great though!
    Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Many thanks

  • As I site owner I believe the articles material here is extremely wonderful.
    Well done.

  • Hello! Excellent stuff here, please keep us posted.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *