Month: August 2013

  • Turned Around

    turned around
    My little niece has a skirt with pretty bows on the back pockets,
    she likes the bows in front and so she wears them in front.
    I love this freedom to do what you like without being influenced
    by what others think
    or doing something because that’s how it is supposed to be done.
    Somewhere along the way we lose that and care too much what others think.
    I know it is different when you are little and cute
    but I wish we could all wear our skirts backwards if we wanted to!
  • Mildred’s Tailgate Party

    My mom planned a family dinner with lots of energetic kids.
    My husband is recovering from open heart surgery and we thought it would be a lot of commotion 
    for him here at the house so my mom decided to have a tailgate party!

    She cooked and put all the food in the back of the  van 
    (fresh caught fried fish,brown butter potatoes, string beans,
    broccoli and carrots with cheese sauce,meatloaf and noodles with cabbage)

    and we drove to my nieces house about 2 miles away.
    My mom said to serve the food from the van

    and eat in the yard

     

     she wanted a tailgate party.

  • On July 11th I left for two weeks on a road trip to Michigan
    to visit two of my best friends, @Saintvi and @Angi1972.
    On the way back to PA I stopped in Holmes County,Ohio
    to visit some Amish cousins of Daves.
    On the way back to PA I got word that my husband Dave was taken to the hospital.
    I then heard that he had a heart attack, his mitral valve had ruptured.
    He was in very serious condition and they were thinking
    that I wouldn’t make it home in time to say goodbye to him.
    They were able to get him into stable condition and they flew him to
    Hershey Medical Center where he would spend the next few days
    waiting for surgery to replace his mitral valve.
    I stayed in Hershey with him and did not have access to a computer,
    he had the surgery last Friday and is expected to have a full recovery .
    His Dr is very pleased with his progress so far and I brought him home yesterday!
    He is up and about and doing well.

    There’s no way to tell you all how much you have meant to me over the years.
    One example of how we  have loved and supported one another is that
      @mlbscnga posted updates about Dave on Xanga and I didn’t even know it ,
    l am so grateful for all your prayers and love.

    I always get all teary eyed when I try to express what this community has
    meant to me. So many years of sharing my life and photos,
    Learning about other cultures and ways of life.
    Working through issues that I had locked inside.
    Road trips and meeting Xangans and
    finding some of the best friends I have.