September 24, 2011

  • Authors on Xanga Series:KSBrooks

    Today I’m here with Kathrin Night, KSBrooks on Xanga
    the creation of novelist K. S. Brooks, introduced to the world back in 2001
    in the action-adventure thriller Lust for Danger. 
    The former Special Agent has worked in the field with and
    for the FBI, CIA, MI6, NYPD, U.N. and Naval Intelligence. 
    The novels The Kiss of Night and Night Undone
    document her exploits since leaving that life in New York City behind back in 2009.

      Seedsower:  Miss Night, thanks for being here today.

    Night:  That’s AGENT Night,please.

    Seedsower:  Okay, sorry about that.  But I thought you were retired.

    Night:  Not really.  I’m just temporarily side lined with an injury. 

    Seedsower:  That injury, you incurred that in the line of duty?

    Night:  That’s correct.

    Seedsower:  And that’s why you're located to the Pacific Northwest – to convalesce?

    Night:  That’s correct.

    Seedsower:  You’re not big on expounding, are you?

    Night:  No.

    Seedsower:  Okay then...  I’m familiar with your adventures in
    Lust for Danger

      The Kiss of Night
      
    and 
    Night Undone.

     
    Can you tell me a little bit about those?

    Night:  In Lust for Danger,I’m really just getting started as an agent with the B.I.T.A.

    Seedsower:   B.I.T.A. – that’s the Bureau of International Trauma Analysts – right?

    Night:  Correct.  They’re the research arm of the United Nations Security Council – they gather information on crisis situations around the globe and advise possible solutions.

    Seedsower:   But you had a problem with just gathering information.

    Night:  I have a problem with terrorists.

    Seedsower:   Right – what I’m saying is, you had a tendency to engage them, not just report on them.

    Night:  What’s your point?

    Seedsower:    Well I could see how a peacekeeping organization might have
    an issue with that kind of...violence.

    Night:  Let me ask you something– if you saw a terrorist preparing to launch an attack,
    would you invite him to chat or would you stop him?

    Seedsower:    Point taken.  But your use of deadly force has been labeled as excessive...

    Night:  I was exonerated each time. 

    Seedsower:  Lust for Danger is the first book in the Adventure Series era of your life. 
    Tell me a little bit about this series.

    Night:  The Agent Night Adventure Series follows me during the height of my career as an antiterrorist agent,from the late 1990s through 2009.  I track down leads around the world, many to exotic locations.

    Seedsower:    An example of those locations?

    Night:  In Lust for Danger,I travel to the Amazon rain forest, the jungles of India ,to Paris , Ethiopia ,and my home base in New York City .  In the sequel to Left,my pursuit of justice takes me to the Nubbin Desert in the Sudan , London , Vienna , and the Falkland Islands, to name a few.

    Seedsower:    In the “Cover Me” Series, you don’t travel as much.

    Night:  The Cover Me Series presents different challenges for me. I’fe got to deal with my shattered ankle, and trying to revive my career.

    Seedsower:    Aren’t you leaving something out?

    Night:  As in?

    Seedsower:    You know – that big Russian guy – former FSB Agent – your drop-dead gorgeous boyfriend?

    Night:  Boyfriend?  I’m not 16.  Even when I was 16 I didn’t have a boyfriend.  Aleksey’s  my partner.

    Seedsower:   Things didn’t start off so well for you two in The Kiss of Night.

    Night:  It was to be expected.  I’m sure I would have resented being pulled out of active duty to bodyguard someone as an attempt to even up a debt.

    Seedsower:   Even up a debt?

    Night:  The Russian Minister of Defense had the FSB send Aleksey – their top agent – to protect me while I was still walking with a cane.  I think the Minister felt like he owed me since I’d saved his life a couple of years earlier.  I told them it wasn’t necessary – the last thing I wanted was an angry Russian goon following me around.

    Seedsower:  Yes, I remember that.  A lot is revealed about your past in The Kiss of Night.  How do you feel about that?

    Night:  I really don’t care for it.  I don’t like people knowing anything about my past.  My secrets are meant to stay buried.

    Seedsower:   Is that why you have such a hard time talking to Dr. Scully in Night Undone?

    Night:   I don’t need a shrink.  I need to get back to work.

    Seedsower:   You don’t think talking to a psychiatrist would be helpful? 

    Night:  No.

    Seedsower:  But you go anyway.

    Night:  I agreed to.  And I always keep my word.

    Seedsower:  What does the future hold for you? 

    Night:  The sequel to Lust for Danger recounts one of my assignments from 2005 – that should be going into editing by the end of this year – there’s a lot of hardcore action in that one.  It’s good stuff.  The sequel to Night Undone is brewing – the past year of my life has been...different.

    Seedsower:   You sound annoyed with the latter.

    Night:  I just want to get back to work.

    Seedsower:  Correct me if I’m wrong– but wouldn’t you consider what you did in Night Undone at the Vancouver Winter Olympics “work”?

    Night:  Theoretically or technically?

    Seedsower:  You’re extremely literal.  Do you find that people have a problem with that?

    Night:  It’s not my problem if they do.  I say what I mean.

    Seedsower:  Do you think that’s why kids like you?

    Night:  I don’t know why children like me. 

    Seedsower:  You don’t think it has something to do with the fact you read to them quite often at United Nations literacy events?

    Night:  I don’t think about it.

    Seedsower:    Then why do you do it?

    Night:  Children don’t deserve to be victims. 

    Seedsower:    Victims?

    Night:  Acts of terrorism, war,and violence – children often end up orphaned, wounded, or worse.
    If reading to them makes their lives better for even a few minutes, it’s worth doing.

    Seedsower:   You’ve got a soft spot for kids, don’t you?

    Night:  No. 

    Seedsower:   You built a school in Afghanistan .

    Night.  I funded a school in Afghanistan .  Locals built it.

    Seedsower:  Again with the literal...  Why fund a school?

    Night:  Because I could.  The children in that village saved my life.  I wanted to give something back to them.

    Seedsower:   Would you fund another school somewhere else?

    Night:   I’d like to. 

    Seedsower:  Why’s that?

    Night:  Children are the future.  Hopefully kindness and education will help make the future a better place.

    Seedsower:   But then people like you would be out of work.

    Night:  Unfortunately, people like me will never be out of work.  But I like the thought.

    Seedsower:   You smiled. 

    Night:  So?

    Seedsower:  Well your seriousness sort of makes interviewing you a little...awkward.

    Night:  I’m a doer, not a talker, really. 

    Seedsower:   And you always do what’s right.

    Night:  Yes.  Mostly.  Pretty much.

    Seedsower:  Pretty much?

    Night:  Sometimes the path to‘right’ isn’t a straight line.

    Seedsower:  But you always get the job done.

    Night:  I always give it my best.

    Seedsower:    What’s your biggest fear?

    Night:  That I won’t get there in time.

    Seedsower:  In time for what?

    Night:  To stop the bad thing that’s going to happen.

    Seedsower:  Because?

    Night:  Innocent people will suffer.

    Seedsower:  I see.  There are clues in the Cover Me Series that there have been a few instances where you didn’t make it there in time.  You seem to carry the guilt from those.

    Night:  Now you sound like my shrink.  Is there a question in there?

    Seedsower:   Do you think that’s why you’re having the flashbacks?

    Night:  This is why I don’t like that K. S. Brooks woman writing about me. My flashbacks are my business until I decide to reveal them.

    Seedsower:  Don’t you think you should tell Dr. Scully about them?  She is a professional.

    Night:  I haven’t decided that yet. 

    Seedsower:   You have a lot going on:  trying to get back into the industry, that bad ankle, flashbacks, having a new partner, the changing world of security– if you don’t talk about it, how do you deal with all this?

    Night:  Shooting things almost always makes me feel better.

    Seedsower:  Well, I think now would be a good time to conclude this interview.
     
    Thanks for being here, Agent Night. 

     

    for more information on Special Agent Kathrin Night, visit her website at http://www.AgentNight.com.  for more information on author K. S. Brooks,
    visit http://www.KSBrooks.com;or like her on facebook at
    http://www.facebook.com/KSBrooksAuthor
    and on twitter at @AuthorKSBrooks.

     

Comments (41)

  • Interesting! Have a nice weekend.

  • Wow I like this interview.

  • I love that cover for "The Kiss of Night."

  • Thanks everyone for the comments, and a special thanks to the Seedsower for posting this interview! 

  • Intriguing! I bet she is fun to read but not so fun to interview - a tad prickly! hehe!

  • That was a good interview. Interviewer really had to know her stuff in order to pull off the interview with Agent Night, night isn't a people person, huh?.Compliments for a very interesting interview. 

  • This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I've joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I've shared your website in my social networks!

  • WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for last minute cheap flights to
    las vegas

  • Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks a lot

  • Thanks in favor of sharing such a good opinion, article is good, thats why
    i have read it fully

  • Very nice article. I absolutely appreciate this website.

    Keep writing!

  • I'm impressed, I must say. Seldom do I come across
    a blog that's both educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you've hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something that not enough men and women are speaking
    intelligently about. Now i'm very happy that I found this during my search for something regarding this.

  • Hello everybody, here every person is sharing such knowledge, so it's
    pleasant to read this webpage, and I used to go
    to see this blog everyday.

  • you're in point of fact a just right webmaster. The web site loading velocity is amazing.

    It seems that you are doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are
    masterwork. you've performed a wonderful activity in this subject!

  • I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire
    someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I'm looking to
    design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from.
    many thanks

  • Very shortly this web page will be famous amid all blog
    users, due to it's pleasant posts

  • Thanks for sharing your thoughts on tadalafil soft. Regards

  • Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your article. I like too write
    a litle comment to suport you.

  • What's up every one, here every one is sharing these
    kinds of knowledge, therefore it's pleasant to read this web site, and I used to
    pay a visit this webpage every day.

  • I have read so many articles regarding the blogger lovers however
    this article is really a good paragraph, keep it up.

  • Hi to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this web site, and your views are good for
    new users.

  • I know this website provides quality depending articles or reviews and
    extra stuff, is there any other website which provides these
    information in quality?

  • I am in fact happy to read this webpage posts which carries plenty
    of useful facts, thanks for providing such information.

  • Hello! I'm at work surfing around your blog from
    my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through
    your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the outstanding work!

  • Ahaa, its pleasant dialogue on the topic of this post here at this website,
    I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this place.

  • Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It's on a entirely
    different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

  • Greetings from Colorado! I'm bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the info you provide here and can't wait to take a look when I get home.
    I'm shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I'm not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent site!

  • I always used to study post in news papers but now as I am a
    user of net so from now I am using net for posts, thanks to web.

  • This is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very precise info… Thank you for sharing this
    one. A must read article!

  • hello there and thank you for your info –
    I have definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this
    web site, as I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could
    get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is
    OK? Not that I'm complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with
    Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more
    of your respective interesting content. Make sure you
    update this again very soon.

  • Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am impressed!

    Very helpful information specially the ultimate part :) I care for such info much.

    I was seeking this certain info for a very long time.
    Thanks and good luck.

  • Thanks for finally talking about >Authors on Xanga Series:KSBrooks |
    seedsower's Xanga Site <Liked it!

  • Admiring the persistence you put into your website and in depth information you offer.
    It's great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn't the same unwanted rehashed information. Fantastic read!
    I've bookmarked your site and I'm including your RSS feeds to my Google
    account.

  • It's actually very complicated in this busy life to listen news on Television,
    thus I simply use the web for that reason, and
    obtain the hottest information.

  • I'm very pleased to find this site. I want to to thank you for your time for this fantastic
    read!! I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have you saved
    as a favorite to look at new stuff on your website.

  • This is the right blog for everyone who would like to find out about this topic.

    You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I
    actually would want to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject which has been discussed
    for years. Wonderful stuff, just great!

  • Have you ever considered creating ann e-book or guest
    authoring on other blogs? I hhave a blog centered on the same ideas you
    discuss and would really like to ave you share some stories/information. I
    kno my readers would value your work. If you are eben remotely interested, fewl free
    to send me aan e mail.

  • I'm veery happy to discover this page. I wanted to
    thank you for your time due to his wonderful read!! I definitely really
    liked every bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to see
    new things in your blog.

  • Every weekend i used to visit this web page, for the reason that i want
    enjoyment, since this this website conations really good funny material too.

  • I blog quite often and Iseriously thank you for your information. Your article has really peaked my interest.
    I'm going tto book mark your site and keep checkiing ffor new infrmation about once a week.

    I opged inn ffor your RSS feed too.

  • Hi friends, how is thhe whole thing, and what
    you would like to say concerning this article, in my view its really amazing in support off me.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *